Mom Works Beyond Aquafresh Giveaway

Being a mom is the hardest job in the world (some days I need to remind my husband of this fact).  Aquafresh would like to hear from moms about how they go above and beyond to care for their children or meet a special challenge.

Giveaway:  One lucky reader (chosen at random from all valid entries) will win a $50 Walmart gift card & an Aquafresh prize pack.

In addition, I will personally select 1 person with a worthy story to be entered into a grand prize drawing for a $500 Walmart shopping spree.  Aquafresh will be selecting the grand prize winner from all participating blogs.

MANDATORY ENTRY:  You must be an email subscriber of my blog and comment below with your “Going Beyond” story.

Giveaway entry period ends at 11:59 pm on Tuesday, June 8th.  Only one entry per person.  US Residents only.

Disclosure: I am working with M80 & Aquafresh on this Initiative. M80 & Aquafresh have also agreed to provide the gifts for the winner of this giveaway. I will be receiving Aquafresh products as part of this review.  No other compensation was given.

51 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by crystal brocious on June 2, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    im an email subcribed and ive gone above and beyond bein g a wife and mother and having t move every year and ahalf in the army its alot of work and takes alot to settle down in a new place and keep everyone happy

    cbrocious1984@gmail.com

  2. Posted by Carol on June 2, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    My Mom Challenge was overcoming the fear of losing another child, and going on to get pregnant again. Our second daughter was stillborn, full-term, and while I knew that having another child would be somewhat helpful and healing, it was terrifying to think of going through another entire pregnancy, only to have it end it tragedy.

    With the help of a support group, my husband, friends, and family, I went on to have three more children. Part of me wanted to never get pregnant again, and another part wanted more children. The challenge was overcoming the fear, so that I could do what I am best at, which is being a mother.

  3. Posted by Nancy on June 2, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    I am a retired teacher who now substitute teaches for the fun of it. By June 11, I will have completed two long term sub assignments this calendar year for two teachers who were pregnant. Both teachers had maternity leaves that started early so I have been subbing for the two teachers for the last 6 months ( January – June ). I have been told that my teaching goes above and beyond and that I work as hard as if these students have been and will always be my very own students. I design extra-special hands on learning projects for my students and try to make learning come alive for them. I certainly try my best to go above and beyond on a daily basis. In addition, I am a wife -married 33 years to my husband – and the mother of two twenty-something young adults who are college graduates.

  4. I am a stay at home mom who has given up a career and additional income in order to spend time with my little guy. Being a full-time mom has been the hardest thing I’ve done. I know it’s making me a better person, and I’m so thankful that I have the opportunity to be a stay at home mom.

    I’m an e-mail subscriber.

  5. Posted by Patricia on June 2, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I signed up for your email.
    I go beyond daily as I battle MS.

  6. Posted by Adrienne Gordon on June 2, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I go beyond everyday by working out for two hours, going to work, coming home and playing with my kids!

  7. Posted by Nadine L on June 3, 2010 at 12:56 am

    According to my daughter, my “beyond” was sticking with her through a very bad time in our lives. She was in a bad car accident, almost lost her life. She was prescribed Oxicontin for the pain from her many injuries. Unknown to me she became addicted to the pain killer. (call me naive or just blind to what was going on) She started using all her paycheck to buy more off the street. When she couldn’t afford that anymore, she went to Heroin, it was the same high (an opiate) and much, much cheaper. We battled through years of addiction with her. Program after program, hospital after hospital. It got to the point where she stole my car and my husbands safe with his employees payroll. That’s when I realized it was going to take tough love. I pressed charges, put her in jail and got her court ordered rehab when she got out. To this day she tells me it was that tough love and doing the hardest thing I have ever done (putting her in jail) to get her life straightened out again. I now volunteer at a rehab to help other drug addicted teens. She always tells me I went above and beyond and changed her life.
    I subscribe (iheartsweeping@aol.com)

  8. My challenge was my pregnancy. Carrying twin boys, I had to sacrifice a lot to keep them healthy and ended up on bed rest. I delivered early and had to spend some time at the hospital after they were born. It was a really difficult time emotionally, but my boys are the best thing in my life. They are worth everything I went through and I’d do it again in a heartbeat for them!

  9. Posted by carol y on June 3, 2010 at 1:44 am

    I took care of my 21 year old daughter for 14 months through 3 surgeries, chemo and radiation and she was at home and I was the caregiver when she passed away. This was the worst thing in my life. Then the next day my husband had a heart attack and they told me he wouldn’t make it. He was out for 4 days and finally woke up. After months he can do pretty much what he used to. They said this doesn’t happen and the doctors were amazed. Life has been really sad and it changes you.

  10. Posted by Soha Molina on June 3, 2010 at 3:08 am

    I am an email subscriber. I am fortunate enough to just have the ‘normal’ obligations of motherhood and not have any special circumstances. However, in my life, I try to go above and beyond in my love for my child. I want her to know, everyday, that she is my world and my being.

  11. Posted by Jill L on June 3, 2010 at 3:13 am

    The biggest event as a mom that I’ve ever faced is when my daughter was born 13 weeks too early. I had a 2 year old son at home who needed his mom and a critically ill daughter who was in a hospital an hour away. I was torn daily on where I should be. I also had to learn how to give my son some sort of normalcy. Of course, soon I learned that what I was going through was nothing compared to what I had to deal with when our daughter died at 6 weeks old. It would have been so easy to just go to bed and stay there. Definitely was not an option for me. Our families were both far away and my husband had to work. I had to learn to put on a happy face for my son and keep living. There were plenty of times that he saw me cry but I really tried to save all my tears for after he went to bed. I struggled so much but was determined to keep living while also keeping my daughter’s memory alive. I did all the hard work necessary to get through that time. I have also been able to use my experience to help other moms. I will never understand why our daughter was taken from us, but I have learned to cherish the short time we had with her and to love every single moment I have with our children.

  12. Posted by Amanda on June 3, 2010 at 3:22 am

    Subscribed!

    I think we all go above and beyond equally.Or we try to. We could all tell stories that would make anyone weep or rage. I hope whoever is going through an especially trying time is the one to net this helpful giveaway!

    Thanks

  13. Posted by Sunny Dreemz on June 3, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    I go beyond the call of duty as a mom by financially supporting my adult daughter while she attends college. Thanks for the giveaway!

  14. My biggest challenge that required me to go above and beyond was my middle daughter being dyslexic. I realized she would be overlooked in the schools, since they wait until a child is two years behind before intervening, which is 2 wasted years. So I brought her home and spent 3 years doing every reading intervention I could find. After a lot of hard work on her part and lots of frustration on my part she finally became a fluent reader at 11. She still has some issues and can’t spell at all, but she is an honor roll student in 8th grade now. Just this weekend I had to scold her for reading a book when she was supposed to be doing chores. I made her put the book down and do her chores, but secretly I was glad to see her so involved in a book.

  15. Posted by Sarah G on June 3, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    So far the biggest challenge I’ve faced as a mom was when my daughter was born. We didn’t know who would care for her, if both my husband & I worked. But, after thousands of dollars of hospital bills (I had a very difficult pregnancy) on top of college loans, we were not sure that we could afford to live on one income. However, we made the decision that I would be a stay at home mom, no matter how financially difficult it would be. So, over the last two years, I’ve had to figure out unique ways to supplement our income (i.e. mystery shopping, etc) that I could do, even when my husband was traveling. The Lord has definitely provided along the way, and our daughter has never starved or been watched by anyone besides my husband & I. 😉

    Thanks for the giveaway!! 🙂

  16. Posted by Joannie on June 3, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    My daughter goes above and beyond every day. She runs two business, and still has time to be a wife, mother, help with her father who has been ill, and still do much charitable work.

  17. Posted by cj on June 4, 2010 at 1:00 am

    new email subscriber.

    I don’t know if what I do as a mom can be considered “beyond”, but I do my best. I have been chronically depressed for the last 7 years. My biggest fear is that I am teaching and raising my daughter to be depressed. Everyday I have to force myself to try to be different but depression doesn’t work that way. I say yes to getting out of bed despite everthing in my head and body telling me to hide in the closet. I put everything I can into being a mom to my daughter. I doubt what I actually accomplish is beyond, but it is my best.

  18. Posted by Holly W on June 4, 2010 at 11:26 pm

    My Mom has sacrificed her retirement years to raise a special needs grandchild…she is awesome!

  19. Posted by Lori Hart on June 5, 2010 at 1:30 am

    I’m not a mom but have two former step-kids that I still am heavily invovled with, Sending one off to college

  20. Posted by Jean D. on June 5, 2010 at 3:24 am

    My sweetie-pie son has had severe asthma since he was a toddler. We lost count years ago how many times we’ve been to the emergency room, and we’ve lost count on the hospital stays. Despite my fears, I’ve tried to maintain calm, as it’s important to keep him calm as he gasps for each breath.

  21. Posted by julieh on June 5, 2010 at 7:04 pm

    I think all mom’s go above and beyond, and it hasn’t been easy for me as a working single mom. But no matter how tired I am after work, I make it to all the kids sports games and we do homework together every night.

  22. Posted by brenda f on June 5, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    I had a serious brain injury and am going back to school to get my degree.

  23. Posted by Christine Sarkauskas on June 5, 2010 at 11:25 pm

    I am an email subscriber.

    My story is about my mom. She goes beyond by helping my brother almost every day with the kids. She goes to my brother and sister house and watches the 3 kids under 3. She also cleans, cooks, and does the laundry for them.

    I don’t know how she does it, but she does.

  24. Posted by Jenna Wood on June 6, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Many people take for granted the ability to be a mother, thus neglecting their children as the blessings they are; while so many hard working- magical moms go unrecognized. Being a mother is the hardest job any woman will ever have, and the highest paying. There is not one day that shouldn’t be cherished and celebrated for the milestone it is! I have tried for years now for a child of my own, and in my journey have realized the role of a mother is not just for those with children of their own body, but those who love and nurture children of all blood. While I may not qualify to be nominated, I am ‘nana’ to 2 wonderful children who light up my day every chance they get!

    six_one_nine_girlie86 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  25. Posted by Trisha Lynn on June 6, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I subscribe by email! I thik I go beyond by being a single mother for all my daughters five years. And in my opinion she has had a pretty great life! I work hard to supply everything on my own and maintain a great house! And I wouldnt change any of it for the world!!

  26. Posted by Eileen Burke on June 6, 2010 at 3:17 pm

    I go above and beyond by going back to school as a new mommy!

  27. Posted by Gena on June 6, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    When my husband and I first got married a while back we were very poor and didn’t have much. Since they time I have graduated college with no loans and am currently a graduate student. I will finish in one year from now! I work full time and I am always still able to spend quality time with my son. I feel like my husband and I have overcome a lot (and I must give him credit for helping me) but I feel I have gone above and beyond because I still work hard to better myself to build a better life for my child!

  28. Posted by Jill Myrick on June 6, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    My biggest par­ent­ing chal­lenge has been tak­ing on a ready made fam­ily of five chil­dren.
    When I mar­ried my hus­band he his pre­vi­ous wife had passed away in a car wreck a year and a half ear­lier.
    And he was the father of a set of two year old twins, a set of three year old twins and a five year old.
    Me, I was a sin­gle per­son with no chil­dren. But felt that I neede a fam­ily to love that needed to be loved just as badly.
    For the first year it was a def­i­nite chal­lenge to get every­one in sync and to come together as a fam­ily.
    In the next three years we have also added two chil­dren to our brood for a total of seven.

    Every­one that I know thought that I was crazy for jump­ing into such a sit­u­a­tion.
    But me, I have loved every minute of it. And would do it again in a heart­beat.
    It is by far the most reward­ing chal­lenge of my life.

    Thank you so much for the chance to win.

    jweezie43[at]gmail[dot]com

  29. Posted by Monique Rizzo on June 6, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    I work a full time job and take my daughter to swim,ballet and softball after work…i literally am going until 9pm.
    Thanks for the chance.
    mogrill@comcast.net

  30. Posted by pixie13 on June 7, 2010 at 3:05 am

    I went beyond just getting my children into this world. I was sick the whole time I was pregnant. I swell up like a balloon from fluid retention. I suffer from gestational diabetes. My body just wasn’t made for bearing children.
    And having made so much effort bringing them into the world, I don’t let any one else take care of them. No day care, and babysitters have been only Grandma & Grandpa on very rare occasions. There has only been 3 times I’ve missed reading the bedtime stories & tucking them into bed, and each of those involved a hospital visit.

    email subscriber

  31. Posted by Shawna OBrien on June 7, 2010 at 6:50 am

    As a mom, I’ve certainly had my challenges to face and overcome. However, it is those challenges that have shaped my life, made me a better person and inspired me to do more than I ever thought I could. My husband has a chronic disease that affects his day to day abilities to work and function, so it leaves a lot more responsibility on me to provide financially as well as be a mom to two young boys ages 7 and 3. My youngest was born with a rare brain disorder and so he has a lot of medical and therapy appointments and various services and supports that need to be arranged, so that also keeps me very busy and presents challenges in trying to balance work and my child’s needs. I am fortunate in that I have worked in the Social Services field for many years and have a lot of experience specifically working with people with developmental disabilities. This experience has benefited my son in terms of me understanding how the medical system works and the other agencies and organizations that provide some services for my son. This means that I’ve been able to be a very effective and strong advocate for my son which I will never stop doing this for him. He has given me such a strong sense of what kind of life and opportunities people with developmental disabilities should have. My son will most likely never be able to live on his own and will always need to be cared for. A lot of people I’ve known with a loved one with Developmental Disabilities that need 24/7 care, see this as a guilt laden burden on them. Many choose to place their loved one in a care home. My intention here is not to be critical, but to state the facts as I’ve experienced. I’ve never felt that my son was a burden. In fact, I feel that he is a blessing. When he was first Diagnosed, the doctors told me he would never hold his head up, sit up, crawl, walk, grasp objects and that he would be on a feeding tube and die young. Well, fortunately for my son, he has proven those doctors wrong. My son can now do all of those things and he eats and drinks fine and is very healthy. Instead of thinking about what my son cannot do or the care that he requires, I see him as a beautiful and happy boy who has worked hard and overcome many challenges and defied the expectations that others put on him. I am proud to be his mother and he will live with me till the day I die. I’m pretty sure that life has more challenges in store for me, but I can tell you that whatever comes my way, I’ll continue to face them head on and make the best of the life God have given me.

  32. Posted by Julie L on June 7, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    I have lived out of state from my mom for 27 years old. I only see her about twice a year. But even though we live apart, she still is my best friend-been there for me with a listening ear-encouraged me when I need it-loving me no matter what

  33. Posted by Kimberly on June 7, 2010 at 12:39 pm

    I am a subscriber. My going beyond mothering moment actually happened with my (much younger) baby sister. My mom left our family and my dad worked crazy hours, so I was left to fill in as the “mom”. I made sure she did her homework, cooked dinner, monitored her tv time, and just made sure her life stayed normal. This was not easy to do, but I think it made me a stronger, more grateful person.

  34. Posted by Amanda A on June 7, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    My moment of going beyond was when my husband deployed overseas with the air force. It is so hard to be the family left behind and to try to keep things going as a single parent. The kids have a hard time feeling connected to him while he is gone, but we work at it the best we can. Thankfully he is home with us now, and we are so glad!!

  35. Posted by Kathy Scott on June 7, 2010 at 7:16 pm

    My mom fought a courageous battle against breast cancer and lost when she was only 38. She taught me to live each day to the fullest because you never know what tomorrow will bring. I try to make every day special for my boys.

  36. Posted by Erica C. on June 7, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    I’m an email subscriber.
    Working overtime to afford extras and the lack of sleep has really shown me all that I can endure.

  37. I always try to go over and beyond when it comes to others. After my father in law passed away, my husband and I made sure everything at the funeral home was taken care of for my mother in law. We also made sure there was going to be plenty of food after words.

    That was a huge challenge with being a mom though. We had to explain to our daughter what was going on she was only 5 at the time. Her poppa passed 6 days before her 6th birthday and she wanted to skip that birthday she said it wouldn’t be fun with out her poppa. That broke my heart, I explained to her that just because he was not with us in body he would always be in our hearts.

  38. Posted by Julie L on June 8, 2010 at 2:54 am

    I am a email subscriber

    For many years, I have/do struggle with major depression and bipolar. I made a vow to myself a long time ago, that I would try/be the best mom I could be. Well, I am glad to say my kids have grown up into responsible, caring adults/teenager

  39. Posted by Darcy B on June 8, 2010 at 3:25 am

    The day after my mother gave birth to her second child, her husband left her, 2 years later her mother died of a brain aneurysm leaving her to raise her young siblings along with her own children. My mother went on to have two more children, while working full time most of her life. She owned a dress shop, was a nighttime bookkeeper, Activities Director for the YMCA, and a Reserve Police Officer, but most of all she was a loving wife and mother. Now my mother is now a full time caregiver to my father who has Alzheimer’s. My Mother has gone above and beyond her entire life.

  40. Posted by Jessie C. on June 8, 2010 at 7:04 am

    I’m a subscriber.

    We travel a lot around the world and I always make sure kids respect different cultures and learn the best from them no matter how busy I’m in the work.

  41. Posted by Amy Delong on June 8, 2010 at 10:09 am

    I subscribe.I go beyond every day with my 2 boys,i am home all day with them,help out at the school,sports!

    ardelong2(at)gmail(dot)com

  42. Posted by latisha depoortere on June 8, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I think my mom goes above and beyond by helping me everyday by taking care of her sick daughter and giving me a place to live. Im so greatful for her and would be lost without her. It is easier to get up everyday knowing that someone loves and cares about me.
    subscriber
    tishajean@charter.net

  43. Posted by Joanne Schultz on June 8, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I subscribe.
    Driving the kids hither and yon for their appointments and activities, I can’t imagine how mothers who have a full time job outside the home handle it all!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  44. Posted by Rae Higgins on June 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    My challenge was raising a bipolar child.

  45. Posted by Justine on June 8, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I am an email subscriber…and I go above and beyond every day for my son who has autism. It is one of the biggest challenges of my life but it has actually brought us closer together. I have had to learn a lot, fight a lot, and work a lot to help him conquer everyday challenges that most of us do without a second thought! I have spent countless hours at the school getting him the assistance he needs to achieve great things and be happy!

  46. Posted by tina reynolds on June 8, 2010 at 2:40 pm

    We have went through a lot this past year with my husband being laid off and adjusting to unemployment and trying to get a new job and going to school. Then we had to move, which was hard, and finally found out baby #3 is on the way. We just keep are heads held high, and are thankful were together and have healthy kids eaglesforjack@gmail.com

  47. Posted by Susan Smith on June 8, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    I go beyond with my children by giving up my career to stay home with them. We live on one income so that means 1 car (which my husband takes to work) no vacations selding eating out and buying clothes at a consignment store but my children won’t remember all that they will just remember that I was there for them.

  48. Posted by Heather Cahill on June 8, 2010 at 8:05 pm

    I am an email subscriber.
    My mother is the one who goes above and beyond. Right now, she works full time, my grandmother is moved down here who is currently going through dialysis, and comes home every day to still spend time with her family. My grandmother has to go to the doctors at least 10 times a month due to her condition, and is not able to drive. My mom takes off of work, or rushes from work to make sure she is always okay.
    For me, she has helped put myself through college, well technical school, which I know isn’t cheap. She didn’t care though, she just wants the best for me. She did the same for my brother also, who went to a technical school after finding out community college wasn’t for him.
    She always puts everyone before her, and I’d love to win this so she can have a great thing all for herself.

  49. Posted by sarah on June 8, 2010 at 11:18 pm

    I’m an email subscriber and one of my good friend goes above and beyond by speaking out about internet safety. She was abducted as a child by an online predator has spoken at over 200 schools in order to teach children about online safety.

  50. Posted by Sarah L on June 8, 2010 at 11:22 pm

    subscriber. I’m not a mom but here’s my story: I didn’t think I could sing. I heard a women’s chorus and wanted to join. I took singing lessons. I tried out and was accepted into the chorus. I’ve been singing for 20 years now – once in Lincoln Center in NYC. Thanks for the contest.

  51. Posted by R Hicks on June 8, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I am not a Mom but as a Dad we had quite the challenge with a bedwetting son. After many visits to the doctor we finally got the problem corrected

    ardy22 at earthlink dot net

Comments are closed.

