JumpStart Review and Giveaway

My 5 year old son recently had the opportunity to try out JumpStart.com.  If you’ve never heard of JumpStart, here’s a brief description from the company:

For more than 15 years, Knowledge Adventure has set the standard in kids’ software by creating the finest educational products for use in the home and the classroom. In addition to CD games, there is a browser-based virtual world at www.JumpStart.com for kids 3-10 years old. Kids can create avatars called Jumpeez for themselves and explore magical worlds, discovering and unlocking games, videos and storybooks that teach everything from math to reading.

My son really enjoyed creating his own Jumpeez.  You can customize it to look like you, although for some reason my son wanted it to look like our neighbor.  The characters are very colorful and engaging, somewhat similar to the way the avatars look on the Nintendo Wii games. The Jumpeez can interact with their pet dragon and go through these different areas and worlds like FutureLand, StoryLand, and MarineLand, which was my son’s favorite.

The JumpStart virtual world is a subscription-based game. Membership includes complete access to the virtual world, and four different downloadable JumpStart games. You can create separate accounts for up to six children under one membership, which is handy when you have children of different ages.  There’s a screen where you add each child’s name, birthdate, and gender.

My one criticism would be that the game took a long time to load, which made my son very impatient.  I’m not sure why this was, perhaps it had to do with my browser.  I really like my son having practice with computer games, as it helps his fine motor skills and he has fun while learning at the same time.

GIVEAWAY:  One of you will win a 3 month subscription to JumpStart!  You must be an email subscriber of my blog to be eligible.  To enter, in ONE comment just tell me you’re an email subscriber and how old your child is.  That’s it!

The giveaway entry period will end at 6:00 pm EST on Tuesday, August 31st. The winner will be selected by random.org.

Disclosure: I was provided with a JumpStart membership at no cost by Knowledge Adventure in order to test the products’ abilities and give my own personal opinions on it. The opinions I have given are mine and may differ from others but were not influenced by the company or the free product provided.

12 responses to this post.

  1. email subscriber and my daughter is age 9
    tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

  2. e-mail subscriber! We have a 5 year old girl who loves Jumpstart
    but needs to become a member to do all the fun things!

  3. Posted by Amber D. on August 26, 2010 at 9:20 am

    e-mail subscriber! My daughter is 3 and is very smart and wants to learn how to read already! Thanks for hosting this chance to win!

  4. Posted by Laura on August 26, 2010 at 9:24 am

    Email subscriber and my son is 7 1/2!

  5. Posted by Leanne M on August 26, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    I’m a email subscriber and I have a 5yr old girl and 3 year old twin boys.

  6. Posted by Leanne M on August 26, 2010 at 1:33 pm

    I’m a email subscriber. I have a 5 year old girl and 3 year old twin boys.

  7. Posted by Courtney C on August 26, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    I am an email subscriber. My son is 4 months old..if I won I’d give the subscription to my niece who is 8.

  8. I’m an email subscriber and this would be for my grandchild – he is 4.
    Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  9. Posted by Robyn G on August 26, 2010 at 11:29 pm

    I am an email subscriber and I have 5 yr old twins!

  10. Posted by Steph S on August 27, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I’m an e-mail subscriber and my twin boys are 5! Thanks!

  11. I just signed up for your email subscription! Thanks for being a new follower for my blog. I have a three year old son that is going on 18 years old. In his own words, “Dude, I totally need this for learning!” He is a bit over dramatic…can you tell?

    Great give away!

  12. subscriber and my son is 5 – we would love to win!

    thanks for sponsoring this.

    2kidsblogger(at)gmail(dot)com

Comments are closed.

