Holiday Cleaning with Clorox

This year we will not be hosting extended family for Thanksgiving, but in past years, I have gone a little nuts cleaning.  Luckily I’ve gotten my husband to help with the cleaning lately.  I’ve been able to convince him to help because our daughter is a toddler and vacuuming up and down the stairs can be a challenge with her getting into everything, so now he’s taken up the chore of vacuuming for me.  I wonder how long I can use my daughter as an excuse not to clean!

According to a new study conducted by Garcia Research, 40 percent of Latinas report the holidays as their peak season for cleaning.  In addition, 43 percent of Latinas report their significant others as helping with household cleaning – a surprising find, considering the long-standing myth that cleaning is a role predominantly performed by women. The study, which explored the housekeeping lessons and cleaning routines shared between generations of Latinas, also revealed that cleaning is a rite of passage, taught by mothers and grandmothers and meant to influence present-day routines and brand choices.

As a Latina myself, I found this data interesting.  I have 2 sons who enjoy helping me with chores around the house.  They love to be mommy’s little helpers.  They will start arguing about who will help me the most, which is funny.  I think this is something they like to do now but once they’re teens, they’ll definitely try to avoid chores.  While this Thanksgiving we aren’t hosting any out-of-town relatives, Christmas is still up in the air.  If we end up getting visitors for Christmas, I will definitely employ the help of my sons and husband.

I’d like to tell you all about the Clorox Holiday Sweepstakes.  They are inviting readers to tweet their advice–in Spanish or English–on how they are helping to keep their families healthy during the holidays using the#CloroxFiestas hashtag.  Weekly winners will be drawn at random to receive gift cards to help you fulfill items off your family’s or your own wish list.  If you like gift cards like I do, you’ll want to take a minute to enter.  Good luck!

Disclosure:  I am participating in a blogging program from The Clorox Company and Latina Bloggers Connect.  This post makes me eligible to win a $50 AMEX gift card.

Leave a comment